Salsa in the Kitchen

Eating healthy can be so hard for us with our crazy schedules. It is easy to grab something quick in the drive through. We tried ditching everything except fruits and veggies, but honestly we weren’t dedicated to such a drastic change. So for now, we have been trying to make a conscious effort to at least not eat things that are bad for us. One favorite snack is chips and salsa. We have tried salsas from Whole Foods, Publix, and a few other places. We don’t like jarred salsa, so that narrows things down as well. So I’ve started making my own!

I love making it myself because I can make it exactly as we like. (That means a whole lot of lime and a whole lot of salt). I start with four tomatoes, a bundle of cilantro, two limes, a red onion, and regular ‘ol table salt. I chop up all the tomatoes, a third of the onion, and a handful of cilantro.

I throw all of that in a bowl and then squeeze all the juice I can out of my two limes. If you aren’t as obsessed with lime as me, you may want to start with one. Then I throw it all in my AMAZING 3.5 KitchenAid Food Chopper. (It is easy to use and can chop or puree whatever I want!). I use the “chop” option for literally less than ten seconds. Finally, I add salt to taste… And wha-bam!! Ready to go.

I hope you love it as much as I do.

DSC_0214DSC_0229DSC_0243DSC_0249DSC_0261

One thought on “Salsa in the Kitchen

  1. It’s not salsa unless there are plenty of chiles. Also, use kosher salt; it is less “salty” than regular iodized table salt.

    Like

Leave a Reply

