Succulents & Soil

I am a terrible gardener. I might actually have a black thumb. I know people say that, but seriously. I can’t keep anything alive! I thought that I did really well keeping some sunflowers alive for about two months, but then I found out that Michael was actually taking care of them in the early morning! (Shout out to my husband for being so awesome).
This whole being terrible at gardening thing really doesn’t work with the image I have of myself in my head. In my world I have a large, blooming garden that I harvest and use to cook with. I also have huge flower beds that I use clippings from to decorate my house. I am very obviously a long ways from that dream. So I have set off on a mission to become a “grade A” gardener. Even after a failed cactus plant attempt, I have decided that succulents are the first step. From what I have read they are hard to kill, low maintenance, and super cute. Basically, if you forget to water them for a day or two it will be okay.
I spent about an hour reading everything on Pinterest that I could find that was succulent related. I am very determined to keep them alive. From what I read, when it comes to planting there are a few things most people agree on. First, it helps if you layer larger rocks along the bottom before the soil. According to all knowing Pinterest, succulent roots do not like to sit in water. The rocks help lift the soil up and allows for drainage. Another thing that pretty much every pinner suggested was using a quick draining soil or a 2/3 soil 1/3 sand mixture. Lastly, everyone suggested that the key to watering the succulents is restraint. They only need to be watered once or twice a week! Once I felt prepared I got to shopping.
We got our soil and succulents at a local Lowes. I got my gold terrarium and the pebbles at Hobby Lobby (50% off too!) Next, I chose a few different succulents and got started. It ended up being way easier then expected, and I had a lot of fun. I love the final product and I am so happy with how it turned out.
Do you have any suggestions on how to care better for these succulents? Stay tuned and I will keep you updated with the progress of my growing garden! Wish me luck.

 

2 thoughts on “Succulents & Soil

Leave a Reply

