I’M HOME! China Recap 2016

I am home!! I am in my country, in my extremely comfortable bed, being cuddled by my adorable two cats. I had such an amazing, life changing experience in China. However, I am so thankful to be home!! 

I don’t even know where to start. So I have decided to just do a little recap of what I have been doing for the past few days. Here’s a little taste of what I experienced! Thanks for all of the prayers and support!
 

Tuesday, July 12th
Meet at TNU at 4:30am!
Fly Nashville, Tennessee to Detroit, Michigan
(four hour layover)
Fly Detroit, Michigan to Beijing, China
Wednesday, July 13th 
Fly Beijing to Kunming, China
Arrive in Kunming late & head to our first host house
Thursday, July 14th
Wake up  & jump a train to Chuxiong
Our first Chinese lunch (fried rice w/ spicy beef, I loved it!)
Check into our dorms at Chuxiong Normal University
Go over lesson plans
DSC_0557
Friday, July 15th
English camp! (We rotated groups between teaching and work crews. This was the day I got to lead activities! It was my favorite part of camp.)
DSC_0583
Saturday, July 16th 
Paint school rooms all day!
Explore downtown with Anna & Sam
DSC_0643
Sunday, July 17th
Paint school rooms
House church (what an amazing experience)
Chuxiong Museum
Hot Pot
Yi Village- dancing and shopping!!
Monday, July 18th
Teach English camps
Get deathly ill by noon
SLEEP and SICKY nonstop
Tuesday, July 19th
(English camps for those not dying)
Lay in bed pondering death
Take the train to Dali
Dinner at Muslim restaurant
Walk around the lake
Check into our (beautiful) hotel. (This was totally the cleanest room & we were on the 18th floor so the view was killer!)
DSC_0568
Wednesday, July 20th
Dance school: teach English songs and games
Make jiaozi w/ kids
Chinese Walmart
Meeting at an English school about field trip
Go to a high school for practical conversations & tour of school
DSC_0809DSC_0800
Thursday, July 21st
Meet the kids early at English school
Natural hot springs and lunch
Ferry to “Thousand Year Old Island”
Field day games
Dinner w/ entire chickens!!! Feet, heads, brains, everything!!!!
Talent show and dance (I taught the kids a classic EFY line dance. They went CRAZY!!!)
Check into hotel with the all wooden roof
Friday, July 22nd
Spend the morning with our kids & hike up the local mountains there
Pack up and ferry back at 1:30
Bus back to Dali & check back into hotel
Group game night & chocolate chip cookies!!
Saturday, July 23rd
Buddhist temple (built 1550) and hike up the mountains
Old town Dali
Pizza at Sleepy Fish (owned by Australians)
Over night train to Kunming
DSC_1076
Sunday, July 24th
International Fellowship of Kunming (church service)
Day of much needed rest
Dairy Queen blizzards!
Monday, July 25th
Fly into Kunming early
Monorail and walking suitcase
Check into hostel
Tiananmen square and political monuments
Downtown Beijing
Chinese market
Wander home via subway station
Tuesday, July 26th
Bus to Great Wall of China
Hike Great Wall and slide down
Subway for lunch
Exploring the Summer Palace and gardens
Got lost in Beijing (very exciting)
Acrobat Show (which we missed almost al of, due to the being lost thing)
Subway back to the hostel!!
DSC_0091
//shirt: Forever21 //shorts: Ann Taylor
DSC_0059DSC_0137DSC_0159
Wednesday, July 27th (my first day that had more than 24 hours in it!)
Final fried rice lunch!!
Check out of hostel
Take bus to airport & final goodbyes to China!
Fly Beijing, China to Detroit, Michigan (only delayed two hours & a two hour layover) 
Fly Detroit, Michigan to Nashville, Tennessee (fifteen minutes early, praises!!)
Get home and run to my darling husband who brought roses, chocolates, and an order of my Mexican takeout, extra ques0. (Seriously, he is so perfect and attractive.)
* small update.  I’ve had about two hours of sleep in the past two days? But the two days were both Wednesday because of the international date line… I think. I don’t even understand how I took off Wednesday at like five and landed in America at like six or something the same day. (That would require sleep, which I’ve not partaken in.) so basically… Please be forgiving of my spelling and grammatical  errors!! 
Leave a Reply

