Marriage is Hard

Being married is hard.  I mean people say that, but it actually is hard, attention requiring work. It’s easy to fight, to under appreciate, or over demand!!

I don’t know if there is just this added pressure of “I’m going to be with this person for eternity.” It could be that now finances are involved or maybe  it’s just because you are with them wayyyy more then when you’re just dating, but I have found that we started to fight a lot more once we were married. Obviously this isn’t good. So what to do?  Some of the best advice we have been given is to “sit on the same side of the table.”
Don’t sit on opposite sides of the table, letting the issue on hand divide you. Instead, sit on the same side of the table facing the issue together! Unite yourself as a team and face the adversity together. That has been some of the best, easiest to understand advice we could have ever gotten.
I’m not perfect at it, but I am trying to train myself to recognize when I’m getting mad at Michael (my sweet, hardworking husband), instead of the issue that is surrounding us. I need to realize when I am letting an issue divide us and quickly move my seat to his side of the table.  After all, team work makes the dream work!!
I hope this helps the next time a disagreement tries to sit down at your table!
weddings.amiliaphotography.com | Amilia Photography

weddings.amiliaphotography.com | Amilia Photography

3 thoughts on “Marriage is Hard

Leave a Reply

