DIY Coffee Station

A year or two ago I saw the cutest pin of a coffee station on Pinterest. I pinned it and totally forgot about it until this recent move! I decided I wanted to make one. It’s ended up looking completely different than the one I originally liked, but it is catered to our style and I love it. I started with a rough sketch and went from there… I knew I wanted to hang my cups, incorporate a chalkboard, and to make the station a focal point. I honestly love how it turned out! The counter/table the Kuireg is standing on was ordered from Wayfair. (we ordered the coffee station table and our coffee table from the same collection!) However, the wall hangings are what I am most proud of. I made them!!

First, I sketched out the general idea and guessed the measurements. Then I took painters tape and taped it off like I was actually hanging it. The tape outlines gave me a much better idea of what I wanted the spacing and measurements to be. Here is what I ended up putting on the shopping list.

 

3 1×4 cut at 52 inches long

2 1×4 cut at 22 inches long

one slab of wood cut at 28×16 inches

Minwax Wood Finish (Dark Walnut 2716)

Blue Hawk Oil Based paint brush

220 fine sandpaper block

one box 5/8 wire nails

one box picture hangers

20 Gatehouse One Prong Robe Hook

 

** old rags, old sheet, masking tape, and a hammer **


 Saturday morning I ran to Lowes to pick everything up. When I got home I started by sanding every inch of wood that would be exposed. It really didn’t take as long as I thought it would! After each piece was done I took a damp cloth and wiped away any dust. Then I let it dry in the sun.

Next, I spread out the boards on top of my old painting sheet and applied a coat of stain to each board (generously) and in long strokes. I let it sit for fifteen minutes before wiping it off. (Make sure you wipe with the grain of the wood.) I absolutely adore the color. It turned out so perfect!!


After the stain had dried I used a pencil to mark off where each hook belonged. I placed hooks on both 22in and two of the 52 inch 1×4 boards. (Leaving on 52 inch board alone.) I placed three hooks on the shorter ones and seven hooks on the longer planks.After marking the placement of the hooks we pre-drilled holes. Then I had Michael screw the hooks in for me. (He’s much handier than I am.) The spacing stands as follows:

52 inch board with seven hooks: Five inches between the board edges and the first/last hook. Seven inches between each hook.

22 inch board with three hooks: Four inches between the boards edges and the first/last hook. Seven inches between each hook.


Now that I had my coffee mug racks I needed to fill in with my two decoration pieces. The stained 52 inch 1×4 was waiting to be lettered for a saying. The other piece was for a chalkboard! After this post I will start to work on my super easy, DIY chalkboard tutorial! All that was left was to hang it up in the new home. I am so excited to share this with you! 

Hopefully it inspires you to try your own DIY craft!

(Shout out to Soph for the picture of my station.  You rock!!) 

12 thoughts on “DIY Coffee Station

  1. Pingback: DIY Wooden Chalkboard  | wife talk

Leave a Reply

