DIY Wooden Memo Board 

One of my biggest pet peeves is mail and other assorted papers laying around the house.  I hate how cluttered it looks!!! So I decided to make a little memo board that I could put the important mail on.

I started with a beautiful slab of wood from Lowes. I honestly didn’t even have it cut.  It seemed like a good size! The first thing I did when I got home was to completely sand it down. Then I wiped it with a wet rag and let it dry out in the sun.


Next I got out the stain I used to make my coffee station.  It’s a “dark walnut 2716.” I also grabbed some jute rope (a little thicker than twine), a staple gun, and a roll of tape.

Once the stain had plenty of time to dry I stood it upright. I started the jute rope by taping it on the backside of the board in the upper left corner. From there I just wrapped it around a few times, arranging it to lay as I wanted. I used tape as I wrapped down so that I knew it was wrapped tightly and in place.


Finally, I got a little staple happy. As I followed the string down I made sure it was still pulled tightly. I need it to be pulled enough that it will hold up a letter! The very last step was to attach size large picture hangers to the back. I put one in the top left and one in the top right corner. The final product is exactly what I wanted!! Check it out –

One thought on “DIY Wooden Memo Board 

Leave a Reply

