Naturally Different Deodorant (my new favorite) 

The Switch to Natural Deodorant 

It’s crazy how now that I am growing a sweet little person inside me how much more aware I am of what I am putting in and on my body! One thing that recently grabbed my attention is my deodorant. I’ve always heard that deodorants can contain elements that are bad for you. However, I never took the time to read about them. So I decided to spend some time on google reading about health concerns of anti perspirants. After spending quite some time reading I didn’t really have any concrete proof. For every article against it there was an article dismissing the worries. At the end of the day here are the main concerns I found with anti perspirants: Parabens, aluminum, triclosan, phthalates, and fragrance allergens. Each presented me with concern, however maybe not concrete proof that they were, for example causing cancer. Though, there has to be some form of harm if there is a label on the stick that reads “keep out of reach of children. If swallowed, get medical help or contact a Poison Control Center right away.” 
That said, it definitely gave me something to think about. One thought that crossed my mind was why risk it? Even though maybe studies are just seeing “links” to the health issue, rather than absolute causation, why do I need to risk that when there are so many organic options available to me? It makes no sense. I decided to take a chance and make a change. If I absolutely hated the natural deodorant I could just switch back! Not a huge deal, and who knows how beneficial in the long run! 
Fast forward and I am now four weeks in on my change to natural deodorant. I am using one of my favorite local businesses, Naturally Different. (I love that their products are locally made in my community, the brand is clean and sweet, plus totally affordable. My deodorant was $7). I am so happy to report that I am completely satisfied! My main concerns when I switched was whether or not I would stink. However, this works just as well and honestly I love how clean it smells! Also, previously I would get really dry armpits. I’m talking, would have to put lotion on them because they were so dry and itchy. I know that’s weird, but I understand now that the alcohol used in my previous deodorant was totally drying me out. I haven’t had that issue at all these past few weeks and I love it! I’m completely sold on my new natural deodorant. Plus, at least with the brand I use, I haven’t had any residue left in my clothing or on my skin. 
I understand that some people with different body chemistry and smells feel that they need to use their extra strength anti perspirants… that’s cool. You do you. However I am so happy that I actually understand the ingredient list on my deodorant now! (See the comparative list below). Are you willing to make the change? I definitely recommend it! 

Naturally Different: 

  • Arrowroot powder 
  • Shea butter
  • Mango butter 
  • Non aluminum baking Soda
  • Organic coconut oil 
  • Organic beeswax 
  • Vitamin E 
  • Essential oils: Lemmongrass and Rosemary 

Secret Scent Expressions: 

  • Aluminum Zirconium Octachlorohyde
  • Water
  • Alcohol denat 
  • Cyclopentasiloxane
  • Propylene glycol
  • Dimethicone
  • Calcium chloride 
  • PEG/PPG-18/18 dimethicone
  • Fragrance 

Please feel free to send me any feedback or brands you love! It would be great to get some other opinions.  

2 thoughts on “Naturally Different Deodorant (my new favorite) 

Leave a Reply

