Chicken Broccoli Alfredo Stuffed Shells

Last week I decided to search Pinterest for some new dinner ideas. Michael didn’t have any requests, so when I stumbled on a recipe from a blogger, Sweet Dash of Sass, I decided to try her recipe for Chicken Broccoli Alfredo Stuffed Shells. (Now that’s a long title).
Her recipe called for the following ingredients:

  • 1 jar (16 oz) alfredo sauce
  • 2 cups cooked chicken, shredded
  • 2 cups cooked broccoli, chopped
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar (or mozzaerlla) cheese
  • ¼ cup shredded parmesan
  • 21 jumbo pasta shells, cooked
  • 1½ – 2 cups spaghetti sauce (optional, but I love the combination of alfredo with tomato sauce!)
  • Salt/Pepper to season (if needed)

 

Here is what I used:

  • Kroger brand Alfredo starter mix
  • Milk
  • Butter
  • Barilla Jumble Shells
  • Cheddar Cheese
  • Half a head of broccoli
  • Chicken- cooked & shredded (I just eyed how much I thought Michael and I would eat)
  • Three Cheese Spaghetti Sauce (Just enough to line the pan)

I honestly didn’t really look at her directions, but upon further reflection they were easy to follow. However, if you are super unfamiliar with cooking maybe confusing. Here is a breakdown of how I prepared them. (AKA here is where I started to just do what I wanted).

First, I trimmed the fat off of the chicken while I boiled water in a larger pan. When the chicken was prepped and the water was boiling I put the chicken in the pan to boil it. 

While the chicken boiled, I chopped the broccoli and washed it. Then I put it in my rice cooker. It has an option for steaming that makes preparing our veggies super easy! While they steamed (there is a timer that turns it off when they are done) I made the Alfredo sauce. 


Right as the sauce finished the chicken was done boiling.  I put the sauce on a back burner and turned off the heat. Then I strained the chicken and put it in a mixing bowl. I refilled the pot and began boiling the water for the noodles.  

As the noodles boiled I used two forks to shred the chicken.  Then I put the broccoli  and the Alfredo sauce in the bowl, along with the cheddar cheese. I mixed it all together.  


When the noodles were done I drained them and let them cool for a few minutes.  While I waited I poured spaghetti sauce along the bottom of a glass pan.  Then I took the shells and stuffed them with the chicken mixture.  I lined them up along the spaghetti sauce lined pan.  Then baked them for like five minutes on 350 degrees.  

After that they were ready to serve! I like mine plain, but I soooned the spaghetti sauce on top of Michael’s. I put together a fruit salad and dinner was done! It was delicious. We both absolutely loved it.  This is definitely going to become a regular meal.  

Side note: can we talk about how cute my Kate Spade pots & cutting board are?? I also have the pan set & muffin tins.  I’m so obsessed 😍plus, the color almost perfectly matches my Kitchen Aid set.  

Leave a Reply

