The Southern of Nashville

Last weekend Michael, Steph, Virginia, and I went and had brunch downtown. Michael has been begging try out the brunch at The Southern. I am really not a breakfast girl so i’ve been putting it off. However, with two other breakfast lovers in the house that weekend I decided it was finally time to try it! Michael was of course, beyond happy.

The Southern is located on Third Ave South. I was worried about parking (I really hate parking downtown), but there is complimentary valet for customers! That was so smart of them. It made it so convenient! Another convenience factor is you can make reservations ahead of time, so no wait line. (I seriously would make a reservation if you can! We saw a ton of people waiting for tables).

The atmosphere itself was cute. I loved the decor and the waitstaff was incredibly friendly for 10am. We all ordered a variety of things from the brunch menu so that everyone could try each other’s food. Michael tried the Steak and Biscuit Benedict, I ordered the Hot Cakes, and then we also got an appetizer called S.O.S.- Two buttermilk biscuits with country ham gravy. Steph and Gia ordered Chocolate Chip Hot Cakes to split, then Gia got the Southern Fried Egg Sandwich, and Steph got Crab Cake Hash. Everyone seemed to love everything. I know my Hot Cakes were fabulous… I literally scrapped the plate clean!


The wait wasn’t too bad either. The only less than great thing was the bathrooms. They have the weirdest sinks ever! There is no basin, it’s just like a slightly tilted piece of marble. I understand the concept. The water is just supposed to run to the back of the marble where there is a drain. However, really just water and soap is flying everywhere. Also, I’m so short and my belly is so huge that I was having to press up against the counter to reach the faucet, getting my shirt seriously wet. Stylish in theory, but not the most functional sink i’ve ever seen.

Overall, I would definitely recommend trying it! I’ve had lunch there before and it was fabulous, but I have a feeling Michael will want to go back for brunch soon!

Leave a Reply

