Packing Our Birth Go Bag

Screen Shot 2017-05-13 at 4.20.09 PM

Looking back on my pregnancy, packing our birth bag(s) was so exciting!! I had packed baby Enolia’s weeks in advance, but I had put off packing mine for a while.

When I initially started I wasn’t exactly sure what to bring.  So over the months when anyone gave me a suggestion or I thought of something- I added it to my list. I wanted to include the most repeatedly given advice for anyone else who may want some insight! The following list is the final product:



    Mom:

  • Gown for birthing (optional, if you’re in a traditional hospital you will have a gown provided)
  • Coming home outfit (loose pants or dress)
  • Robe
  • Slippers
  • Face wash
  • Toothbrush
  • Toothpaste
  • Brush
  • Contact case and contact solution
  • Hair ties
  • Shampoo & conditioner (mini)
  • Socks (several people suggested compression socks)
  • Granny panties
  • Pads
  • Distractions (book, music, iPad, etc)
  • Nursing pads
  • Nursing cream
  • Nursing bra
  • Dry shampoo
  • Chapstick
  • Gum
  • Essential oils
  • Massage oil

Baby:

  • Coming home outfit
  • Baby onsie
  • Pacifier
  • Diapers
  • Wipes
  • Blanket/swaddler x 2
  • Burp cloth
  • Car seat
  • Mittens

Dad:

  • Sweatshirt
  • Snacks – Gatorade & food
  • iPad/book (I thought this was a weird recommendation. However, they said afterwards when mom is sleeping and dad can’t he will appreciate it).
  • Toothbrush
  • Pillow (we didn’t need one because they gave us a ton, but some hospital births may)
  • Electronic chargers
  • Extra shirt
  • Deodorant

Miscellaneous:

  • Birth plan
  • Insurance card
  • License
  • Wallets
  • Camera & charger
  • Baby book (footprint)

 

We ended up packing all of the little one’s stuff in her diaper bag- it’s a gorgeous Kate Spade bag (see a similar bag here). Then we packed all of our stuff in a duffel. The only thing I wish I had done differently is that I packed the bags to the brim. So then when we were trying to leave it was impossible to fit all of the gifts and such in the bags! So I would bring an extra bag or leave some space. Let me know if any of you have any other suggestions you think I should add! I hope you have as much fun packing as I ended up having.

 

 

Leave a Reply

